Yahari Ore SNAFU Episode 5 – Comparing Subs for Hikki’s “Nice Girl” rant   1 comment

I just watched the 5th episode of Yahari Ore shit this title’s way too long (Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru) SNAFU. Anyway, long story short, I was impressed by the writing of Hikigaya’s beautiful ramblings at the end of the episode…

In fact, the writing moved me so much, it made me actually waste my time just to look out for other versions of the writing, of course made by different fansub groups that released the episode. So I guess the reason behind this post is I want to find out the difference between each version and what do I think of each. Also rank them by my own taste. You may also chime in and tell which translation was the most effective for you.

Note: This is not an accuracy test. I have not read the light novel nor speak Japanese to be able to tell the difference.

Okay, so here goes the list!




#4: Deadfish / WhyNot subs

Here it goes…


I hate those types of girls.
You can’t get them off your mind if they merely say hi to you.
Just a single text from them can make your heart flutter.
Then if you get a call from them, you’ll just keep happily looking at the call history like an idiot.
But I know better.
About that thing called “kindness”.
If someone is kind to me, they’re also kind to others.
I almost forget that sometimes.
If the truth is that cruel, then I’m sure lies are truly kind.
That’s is why kindness is a farce.
I alwayes get my hopes up and end up misunderstanding every time.
At some point I just gave up hope.
I’m an experienced loner. I’ll never again fall for it.
I’m a veteran warrior.
I’m the absolute best at losing.
So I will forever hate kind girls.

I think this translation is the weakest so far, but the phrase “I’m sure lies are truly kind” until “kindness is a farce” was well thought. But aside from that, there are too many literals and it takes too many words to express meaning. Nice try, Deadfish / WhyNot.





#3: FFF subs


I hate nice girls.
Just exchanging pleasantries with them makes me curious,
and texting each other makes me feel restless.
If I get a call, for the rest of the day, I’ll keep checking my call history with a stupid grin on my face.
But I know the truth
They’re just being nice.
Anyone nice to me is nice to others too.
But I always find myself on the verge of forgetting that.
If the truth is a cruel mistress, then a lie must be a nice girl.
And so, niceness is a lie.
I would always hold expectations, I would always misunderstand
At some point, I stopped hoping.
An experienced loner never falls for the same trap twice.
A lone warrior, surviving hundreds of battles.
When it comes to losing, I’m the strongest.
That’s why no matter what happens, I will always hate nice girls.

This translation is concise and straightforward (which is not a bad thing), but I’m not sure if I would pick this as my favorite, because of the “stupid grin on my face” part. It took too many words to say that sentence. The rest of the lines are fine, if not, good. I especially like use of the common metaphor “truth is a cruel mistress”. put together with “then a lie is a nice girl”. Good job, FFF.





#2: Doki subs


I hate kind girls.
They make you take an interest in them by exchanging just one word of greeting.
Once you start e-mailing them, it unsettles your heart.
On the days they call you, it makes you crack a smile.
But I know…
…that’s what they call “kindness”.
Someone who is kind to me is also kind to others.
It seems like I might just forget something like that.
If the truth is cruelty, then surely lies must be kind.
That’s why kindness is a lie.
I always get my hopes up, and I’m always mistaken.
Just when did I give up holding on to hope?
My trained solitude won’t let me fall for the same trick twice.
I’m a seasoned warrior.
When it comes to losing, I am the best.
That’s why I will always… hate kind girls.

Doki’s translation feels a little too safe, but they played their cards well. No mistakes, everything is clear and concise. It also feels a bit more of an “anime” dialogue. You know, something that’s good enough to be quoted by some weeaboo at Deviant-Art. I feel like I can get into the shoes of the narrator (Hikki) from this dialogue. It’s well-written overall, but I think it’s still way behind from…





#1: Commie Subs


I hate nice girls.
Just exchanging greeting with them will get them on you mind.
Start texting each other, and your heart will be set a flutter.
If they call you, you’re done for.
Enjoy staring at your logs and grinning like a fool.
However, I won’t get fooled again.
That’s what your kind calls kindness.
If your’re nice to me, you’re also nice to others.
I always end up nearly forgetting that.
Reality is cruel, so I’m sure lies are a form of kindness
Thus, I say kindness itself is also a lie.
I always ended up with these expectations
And I always ended up these misunderstandings
And before I knew, I stopped hoping.
A highly-trained loner is once bitten, twice shy
As a veteran on this battlefield of life,
I’ve gotten used to losing.
That’s why… I’ll always hate nice girls.

Everything about this translation is perfect. It’s too… poetic. Like quality copy-pasta. Something you can get loads of upvotes for on reddit. And the writing is so well considering they were the first group to release the episode subbed. I definitely like it from start to end, but the most striking part was the “battlefield” part. You can really see Hikki’s personality from the writing. His despise of social human beings. His arrogance. Everything. The writing is just that powerful, I just teared like a man in the end. Kudos, Commie subs!





#Extra: Commie Subs… in Portuguese! (courtesy of Diog4D-Hattori)


Detesto raparigas simpáticas.
Basta que nos cumprimentem para ficarmos a pensar nelas.
Se nos mandam uma mensagem, ficamos com o coração aos pulos.
Se nos telefonam, estamos tramados. Bem podemos ficar a olhar para o registo de chamadas feitos parvos.
Mas eu sei a verdade.
Estão apenas a ser simpáticas.
Se são simpáticas comigo, também o são com os outros.
Estou sempre quase a esquecer-me disso.
A realidade é cruel, portanto decerto que as mentiras são uma forma de simpatia.
Como tal, digo que a própria simpatia é uma mentira.
Ficava sempre com expectativas. E acabava sempre equivocado.
Antes de dar conta, perdi a esperança.
Um solitário experiente é naturalmente desconfiado.
Como veterano da guerra da vida, habituei-me a perder.
E por isso, aconteça o que acontecer…
Nunca deixarei de detestar raparigas simpáticas.

Haha… until then folks.

One response to “Yahari Ore SNAFU Episode 5 – Comparing Subs for Hikki’s “Nice Girl” rant

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the number 1 was the worse 3 was the best

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

